Stumbling upon the Jay Covered Bridge in Jay, NY

Now that it’s officially 2019 let me take a moment to say: Happy New Year! Thanks for visiting this year! Today I’m taking it back to my October trip to the Adirondacks once more to talk about how I stumbled upon the Jay Covered Bridge in Jay, NY. What I love about this was it happened as a true accidental adventure.

We started out the day by driving towards White Face to check out the area because I hadn’t been past Lake Placid before. It was too foggy to drive to the mountain’s summit so we drove past the road for that and took a few random turns to enjoy the scenery. When we finally came upon the tiny town square of Jay, New York we decided to use the opportunity to loop around and head back to Lake Placid. Once I turned the car around, and just as we were about to head out of town I saw a sign advertising the ‘historic covered bridge’ so on a whim we looped around again to see the bridge.

Given that it was a rainy, foggy weekday, no one else was around which made for a very enjoyable and private wander around what we learned was the Adirondack’s last standing covered bridge.

fullsizeoutput_210

The bridge had fallen into disarray after a truck accident but it was fully restored in 2006. It’s now for pedestrians only as an alternative bridge over Ausable Chasm was built next door.

fullsizeoutput_212
This more industrial looking bridge gets cars across these days

IMG_6589

There are signs up on both ends that talk about the rich history of the bridge.

fullsizeoutput_211.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_20b
The portion of Ausable Chasm that the bridge crosses is a popular summer swimming hole destination!

fullsizeoutput_20d

My mom and I both agreed that this was a beautifully serene stop and we were glad we’d turned around on a whim to check it out.

IMG_6588
Loved out time ‘hanging out’ at the Jay Covered Bridge!

Stay adventurous!

Leave a comment